IPL 2008 Winner Season 1 – Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals Highlights

Rajasthan Royals won the first edition of the most popular Indian Premier League. Defeating Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets, Shilpa Shetty owned team lifted the title of opening season of IPL. Final match of the IPL season 1 was played on 1 June 2008 at Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, which is situated in Mumbai. Beating the opposite teams in playoffs, CSK and RR confronted in the final match of the tournament. By winning maximum number of matches in the series of India’s domestic cricket tournament, the two teams maintained a good track record in IPL 2008 points table. Net run rate of both teams was also admirable throughout the local league of T20 cricket format. 

IPL 2008 Winner

IPL Season 1 Final Match Full Highlights

After winning the toss, Rajasthan Royals elected to bowl first. Chennai Super Kings started their batting innings with opener batsmen Parthiv Patel (wicket-keeper) and Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan. Hitting one six and one four, Vidyut scored 16 runs in 14 balls. Hitting five fours, left handed batsman Parthiv smashed 38 runs in 33 balls. Fall of Vidyut’s wicket in the early overs didn’t impact the performance of other players. Suresh Raina came to bat next soon after the dismissal of Vidyut. Partnership between the two left arm cricketers lasted for a long time. Raina scored 43 runs in 30 balls. He hit 1 four and two sixes while scoring those runs.

IPL 2008 Toss Highlights

Patel lost his wicket in 9th over and another left arm all rounder cricketer Albie Morkel arrived in the ground to bat next. Morkel trashed two sixes and hit 16 runs in 13 balls. Yusuf Pathan smartly picked up the wicket of Albie Morkel in 13th over. CSK skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni came to bat next and scored 29 runs in 17 balls. The right handed Indian batsman hit two sixes and one four while to score the double digit runs. Raina was bowled out by Australian versatile cricketer Shane Watson in 17th over.

Soon after his dismissal, Chamara Kapugedera stepped into the ground and returned to pavilion after scoring 8 runs in 12 balls. S Badrinath was the man to bat next after Chamara’s wicket in 20th over. The right arm Indian cricketer hit one 4 and scored 6 runs in two balls. Men in yellow managed to score 163 runs in 20 overs. Team CSK lost its five wickets while setting up the target of 164 runs for the rival team. Yusuf Pathan picked up three wickets while Shane Watson and Sohail Tanvir grabbed one wicket each. Munaf Patel, Siddharth Trivedi and Shane Warne went wicketless.

IPL 2008 CSK MS Dhoni

Stepping in the ground to chase the target of 164 runs, Swapnil Asnodkar and Niraj Patel didn’t play big shows in the initial overs. The team suffered a huge loss when the opening player Patel lost his wicket in third over. Manpreet Gony bowled him out and got a break-through to its performance in the 20 overs match. After scoring 2 runs in 11 balls, Niraj returned to the pavilion and Pakistani cricketer Kamran Akmal came to bat next. The right handed batsman didn’t get much balls to play as Swapnil was scoring the runs with a good run rate on the other end of the strike.

Hitting 4 fours to score 26 runs in 20 balls, Asnodkar lost his wicket in seventh over. No sooner did his dismissal stunned the team than the wicket of Kamran Akmal also shook the supporters of Rajasthan Royals. After the Pakistani player walked back to pavilion, Shane Watson and Mohammad Kaif were trying to settle on the crease. Sri Lanka spinner Muralitharan bowled out the right arm Australian cricketer, who could score 28 runs in 19 balls. Watson hit 3 fours to score those numbers. Kaif too failed to score huge runs and lost his wicket after scoring 12 runs in 9 balls.

IPL 2008 Yusuf Pathan

At this stage, every spectator in the stadium thought that Chennai will easily win the game. But Yusuf Pathan, who batted in the middle order of batting lineup, rebuilt the confidence among the audiences and allured them with his spectacular performance. Playing a monstrous inning, Pathan hit 4 fours and 3 sixes to score 56 runs in 39 balls. He couldn’t continue to play till the last moment of the game and unfortunately lost his wicket after completing the half century. Ravindra Jadeja entered into the field after Pathan’s dismissal, but the left arm batsman also returned to pavilion without scoring any run.

Last over of the game was quite thrilling as everybody in the public gathering was excited to see what is going to happen in next five minutes. The audiences were eager to watch whether the batsmen in bottom order of the lineup manage to achieve the target by scoring required runs. Shane Warne and Sohail Tanvir were batting in the last over. The two cricketers successfully scored the runs needed for the victory and defeated the opponents. Yusuf Pathan was rewarded with the ‘Man of the Match’ title for his overall performance in bowling as well as batting.

IPL 2018 Schedule IPL 2018 Time Table IPL Match List 2018 IPL Time Table 2018 IPL 2018 Match List IPL 2018 Points Table IPL 2018 Point Table Bigg Boss News Bigg Boss Latest News Bigg Boss 12 Contestants Bollywood Collection Bollywood Box Office Bollywood Box Office Collection Pro Kabaddi Schedule Pro Kabaddi 2018 Schedule Box Office Collection IPL Schedule 2018 Bollywood News Exam Result Happy Ramadan 2018 When Is Ramadan 2018 Top Upcoming Movies Big Bash Fixtures BBL Fixtures BPL 2018 Upcoming Cricket Matches EPL Standings NFL Standings La Liga League Standings PSL Fixtures PSL Schedule How To Motivate Yourself ISL Fixtures ISL Points Table ISL Standings ISL Schedule IPL Standings 2018 IPL 2018 Time Table List Upcoming Movies Upcoming Bollywood Movies 2018 Ramadan 2018 Calendar Frontier Theme