Spread the love

Indian premium league is the biggest T20 cricket league ever in this world. This is a league where you can see many reputed players. Most of the Indian players are part of this league. When it comes to the Indian legends no doubt there are many big names like Sachin, Dravid, Sehwag, and Ganguly are already played this fascinating T20 league in their peak time.

As we all know T20 league is known as a youth game as this format needs superb fitness and fearlessness. Many senior international cricketers tried their best to win IPL some of them are successful but others failed badly. Today, in this post we are going to know such 5 Indian legends who never won an IPL trophy in their IPL cricketing career. So, let’s get started with more details.

1.Zaheer Khan

India’s most successful left-arm fast bowler, Zaheer Khan played 10 IPL seasons for 3 different franchises but sadly he never won an IPL championship as a player. Zaheer has started his IPL journey as a fast bowler from Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2008 but moved to Mumbai Indians after his first season.  His team failed to reach playoffs till 2010 and he again switched back to RCB in 2011. This time though he did not win the IPL trophy but reached the final. Z. Khan again returned to Mumbai Indians in 2014 but unfortunately, Mumbai Indians failed to repeat their success like 2013 season. Finally, Zaheer became the captain of the Delhi Capitals but his team was disappointed that season. That was his last franchise in IPL career then he joined Mumbai Indians as a coach.     

READ  List of all the Brands that are sponsoring of IPL 2021


2.Anil Kumble

Anil Kumble is one of the most skillful leg spinners of India who has taken many wickets in his international career. Though Anil Kumble never played a T20 international match in his life his performance in IPL is quite exceptional. Kumble played three seasons for Royal Challengers in his IPL and he was the captain of RCB. In IPL 2019, he led his team RCB to the IPL final but unfortunately failed to win the trophy. This was the farewell season for Kumble and this legend never won an IPL in his career ever. The last game of IPL for Anil was played against Deccan Chargers where RCB crushed DC. No doubt he failed to win an IPL trophy but he proved himself as the finest performer of T20 cricket and a game-changer for RCB.

3.Rahul Dravid

Legend Rahul Dravid also known as “The Wall” was one of the finest players of world cricket. Though his playing style doesn’t suit T20 cricket he has played many exceptional T20 innings in IPL. As Dravid belongs to Karnataka he started his IPL journey with Royal Challengers Bangalore franchise in 2008 but after two seasons RCB released him. Dravid then joined Rajasthan Royals but RR could not get success like the 2008 season under Dravid’s reign. Ultimately, this legend retired from IPL in 2013 but failed to win an IPL trophy in his IPL career.

4.Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag is known for his explosive batting. No doubt T20 league like IPL always suits his playing style. He started his IPL career with his home franchise Delhi daredevils in 2008. In that season he led his team to the semis but failed to reach the final. No doubt Delhi reached the final 4 several times but never reached the finale.

READ  Top 5 fastest bowlers so far in IPL 2021

After Delhi Daredevils he moved to Kings XI Punjab in 2014 where he performed exceptionally and the team reached the first-ever final but unfortunately, they lost the final against KKR. Then Sehwag announced his retirement from IPL without lifting the IPL trophy in his career.

5.Sourav Ganguly

Former Indian cricket team captain Sourav Ganguly comes next in our list who never won the IPL trophy in his career. Perhaps he is one of the unluckiest legends who failed to achieve the IPL trophy. In the 5 seasons, he played in IPL his team never made it to the top 4 positions in the points table. Dada started his IPL career by captaining his home franchise Kolkata Knight Riders from 2008 to 2010 but never got remarkable success during his period.  Then he joined Pune Warriors India next but that franchise failed badly and stay at the bottom of the points table. Then Ganguly retired from IPL in 2012 without a win the IPL trophy in his IPL career.