Spread the love

Indian premium league is one of the most popular t20 leagues ever initiated in 2008 after the Indian cricket team became the winner of the first-ever T20 world cup 2007 in South Africa. No doubt BCCI saw that day the high potential of 20-20 overs format of cricket.   

Initially, BCCI introduced eight city-based franchises in the first season of IPL, where players contributed to different franchisees from different countries. After the success of the first-ever season of IPL, BCCI invited the world’s best players to play this league. In this way, IPL has become one of the biggest T20 league brands globally that belong to BCCI. 

5 Things that never changed in IPL since 2008

No doubt IPL has transformed a lot in the last 13 years, or you can say in 13 seasons. Initially, there used to be semifinal matches between the top 4 teams of the point tables, but now, there are plays-off matches between the top 4 sites on the points table. 

But surprisingly, few things are there that have not changed since 2008! Want to know about such things? If yes, then follow this post till the end! Here in this post, we will provide you such five exciting facts about IPL that have not changed since 2008. 

So, let’s get started with more details 

1.Virat Kohli has been with RCB since IPL 2008

Current Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli has been with RCB since the first IPL season in 2008. At that time, Virat Kohli was the captain of India’s U19 cricket team. In the second round of the auction, RCB signed Kohli, one of its significant decisions. He is currently the highest run-getter (973 runs) in one season of IPL. Since 2008 RCB never thought of releasing Kohli, and now he is the captain of RCB and one of the key players of the RCB franchise.        

2.MS Dhoni has been captaining CSK since IPL 2008

Chennai Super Kings, also known as the yellow army, have won three IPL titles in the last 13 years of IPL. All the titles have come under the leadership of former Indian cricket team captain MS Dhoni. Chennai super Kings franchises gave leadership to Dhoni in the first season, and since then, he is the captain of the CSK team till now. He was the most expensive player of that time, and after that, Dhoni has never been a part of the IPL auction.  

When CSK got banned due to betting allegations during IPL, Dhoni was signed by Rising Pune Supergiant in 2016. Overall, you can say Thala Dhoni has always captained CSK playing XI since 2008.      

3.Mumbai Indians Owner 

In the history of IPL, the ownership of many franchises has changed, but the owner of the Mumbai Indians franchise has never changed. Mukesh Ambani bought this franchise in 2008, and he has been the owner of this franchise till now.

Though Mumbai Indians franchises could not win a single title until 2012 IPL in the last eight seasons, they played exceptional cricket in IPL and took 5 IPL titles highest by any IPL franchise until now. No doubt Rohit Sharma has a significant contribution to the success of the MI franchise.             

4.Only one centurion for KKR 

Kolkata Knight Riders knew as KKR is one of the strongest and consistent franchises that perform well in every season of IPL. Till now, they have achieved two IPL titles. 

Though KKR and teammates do many records, they have fallen short in one aspect, none other than the number of centurions in IPL. If you are following IPL from the first season, you must remember the big hundred (158* from 73 balls) of Brendon McCullum. 

This was the first match of season one IPL 2008. Many legendary crackers are associated with the KKR team, like Jacques Kallis, Saurav Ganguly, and Gautam Gambhir. Still, the sad thing is since then; no other KKR batter has ever scored a hundred in IPL history. Overall, there is one centurion for KKR since IPL 2008.           

5.Shaun Marsh is the only uncapped Orange cap winner 

As we all known, the orange cap is awarded to the highest run-getter in an IPL season. Many legendary players like Matthew Hayden and Sachin Tendulkar are featured on the list of Orange Cap winners. But the very first winner of the Orange cap winner was Shaun Marsh. This Australian Batsman was not a well-recognized player in 2008. Even he was not a part of the Australian International cricket team at that time.

Still, Punjab Kings (previously known as Kings XI Punjab) backed this lefthander Australian batsman. The Punjab franchise bagged him before the inaugural season, and surprisingly, he performed exceptionally in the first season with constancy. In 2008 he was the first uncapped player who grabbed the orange cap and stayed with Punjab until 2017. There is no uncapped player who won an orange cap in the history of IPL after Shaun Marsh.  

These are 5 things that never changed in IPL since 2008! Hope you like our post. Never forget to share our post with your friends. Keep visiting our sites to get fresh updates on Vivo IPL 2021.

READ  5 Players Who Did Well In Other Franchise T20 Leagues But Flopped In IPL