Spread the love

IPL is the best and most successful shorter format cricket league ever where batters can completely change the game within no time. T20 game is usually a batsman dominant game, but with players playing in IPL, you can expect any run chase by any batsman. In the history of IPL, fans have witnessed many destructive batters who changed the game suddenly with their destructive innings.

No doubt it’s challenging to score a century, especially in the T20 game, as players have to charge bowlers on every ball to score as much as they can. But many players have made a quick century in the Indian premium league and help their respective teams to win matches. So if you want to know batters with the fastest centuries in IPL history, then you are on the right page. Here in this post, we will mention some of the brilliant and fastest centuries made by players in IPL history.

Fastest Centuries Made by Players in IPL History  

Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle holds the record of smashing the fastest hundred in IPL. This Caribbean cricketer is known for his destructive batting. In 2013 IPL, he played a blistering knock of 175* against Pune Warriors. This knock was special, and Gayle scored this huge run only in 66 balls in which he smashed 17 sixes and 13 fours. This was a memorable inning for Gayle as well as fans. This lefthander crossed the three-figure mark at just 30 balls and helped his team RCB to set a target of huge 263 runs in 20 overs.

READ  5 Lowest Team Scores in IPL History

Yusuf Pathan

Yusuf is known as a T20 specialist, and he comes next in the list of fastest century in IPL history. He smacked a ton only in 37 balls against Mumbai Indians in 2010 IPL. This was the fastest century in IPL at that time. In that match, Rajasthan Royals were chasing a big target of 213 runs, and special innings of Yusuf help Rajasthan Royals to come closer to the target, but unfortunately, they lost the match by only 4 runs.

David Miller

South African T20 specialist David Miller comes next in the list of fastest centuries made by any player in IPL history. David scored a century in only 38 balls and stay unbeaten against RCB in IPL 2013. In that match, RCB had set a huge target of 191 runs against Punjab and Punjab was in big trouble initially as they were 64/4 in 9.5 overs. Then David Miler played an unbelievable knock and help Punjab to chase a huge score in 18 overs with 6 wickets.   

Adam Gilchrist

Australian wicketkeeper and batsman Adam Gilchrist is the next player who achieved hitting the fastest century in IPL history. This destructive left-hander batsman struck a 42 ball century in the first season of IPL against Mumbai. Gilchrist was playing for Deccan chargers and was chasing a total of 155 in 20 overs. Gilchrist smashed every bowler that day and gave a huge win to his team, and won the match in just 12 overs with 10 wickets in hands.

Ab De Villiers and David Warner  

South African Batsman Ab De Villiers and Australian opener David Warner hold the record of the fastest century in IPL history. These two batsmen hold the fifth spot as they both have completed a century in only 43 balls.  AB De Villiers smashed 129 runs off 52 balls against Gujarat Lions in 2016. In that superb knock, he has smashed 12 sixes and 10 fours. David Warner smashed 126 runs only off 59 balls, including 10 fours and 8 huge sixes, and helped his tea win against Kolkata Knight Riders by 48 runs.

READ  5 Things that never changed in IPL since 2008

Fastest centuries in IPL

Players RunsBallsAgainstBalls for centuryYear
Chris Gayle175*66PW302013
Yusuf Pathan10037MI372008
David Miller101*38RCB382013
Adam Gilchrist109*47MI422008
AB de Villiers129*52GL432016
David Warner12659KKR432017