Spread the love

Kolkata Knight Riders, also known as KKR, is one of the best teams in IPL history. This is the franchise of Bollywood King Shah Rukh Khan and beauty queen Juhi Chawla.  If you are new to IPL, you may question how many times KKR won the IPL title? We are here to answer this question to you via our blog post in detail. The men in purple and gold lifted two-time IPL trophies under the leadership of former Indian left-hander opener batsman Gautam Gambhir. KKR has achieved this wonder trophy of IPL in 2012 and 2014, respectively.

Gautam lead the team wonderfully, and his aggressive captaincy and smart decisions gave him huge success in IPL, and once a time, they are the most dominant forces of IPL.

Let’s know more about how they become IPL champs in the 2012 and 2014 editions of IPL.

IPL 2012 season

In IPL 2012, 10 teams have participated, and all the teams had to play 16 games in group stages. Kolkata Knight Riders won 10 out of those games and finished the group stage at second position in the points table. Delhi Daredevils were at the first position in their group stage.

As per the rule, KKR has to play two matches to crack the play the final game, but they performed well as even did not go for the second crack as they beat the table, first position holder, Delhi Daredevils in the first qualifier game and got the chance to play the final game where they have to play with two-time champions Chennai Super Kings.

READ  IPL 2021: Top 5 debutants to watch out for in the season

The final game was like a roller coaster for both KKR and CSK, but eventually, Kolkata Knight Riders sealed the trophy amazingly. The wonderful innings 89 from wicket keep and batsman Manvinder Bisla changed the whole match, and KKR won the trophy. That season was amazing for KKR and captain Gautam Gambhir. Gautam performed well at that tournament and became the second-highest run-scorer with 590 runs in 17 games at an average of 36.87. Sunil Narine was the highest wicket-takers for KKR with 24 wickets in 15 games.

IPL 2014 season

In 2014 IPL KKR performed well and won the trophy again under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. They dominated the group stage matches and achieved the number second spot in the ranking table. They have won the first qualifier and qualify for the final match directly.

This time they have to face mighty Kings XI Punjab in the final match. Punjab batted first in the final match and gave a huge target of 200 runs to win for KKR. The classic century of Wriddhiman Saha and the brilliant 67 runs of Manan Vohra helped Punjab to set a huge total in Infront of Kolkata Knight Riders.

For KKR, it was not a very good start from Robin Uthappa and captain Gautam Gambhir as both of them got out early, then Manish Pandey and Yusuf Pathan handled the situation amazingly. Both of them played exceptionally and started hitting huge sixes and boundaries, and at last, Piyush Chawla played a small cameo of 13 runs of just 5 balls to help KKR win the IPL title.

READ  Which team has more fans in IPL?

No doubt KKR has won two titles, but in the current IPL 2021, they are struggling a lot to win games. Their team combinations look very ordinary, and most of the players are out of form. Hopefully, they will make a strong comeback in the second half of the IPL matches.