Spread the love

Everyone is super excited as the IPL 2021 season is approaching very soon. Cricket fans worldwide are discussing IPL, which is the biggest and most successful T20 cricket league ever.

Cricket fans are often debating on the teams and best performances of players from different franchises all the time. You can mark common questions like how many times Mumbai Indians won the IPL trophy? Though many Mumbai Indians fans know it, many cricket lovers still don’t know the answer! If you are one of them who don’t know about the statistic of IPL titles achieved by Mumbai Indians, then you are at the right place.

Here in this post, we will discuss how many times Mumbai Indians won the IPL trophy and which team they had face to win titles, and much more. So read the complete post to get complete knowledge.

Why is Mumbai Indians the strongest team of IPL?  

Before discussing further, we all know Mumbai Indians is one of the most successful franchises in the history of IPL. This is a franchise blessed with high potential and many talented players. Mumbai Indians allrounders are the real gamechanger and one of the key reasons for their success throughout several seasons.

They have players like Rohit Sharma, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Pollard, Jaspreet Bumrah, Trent Boult, Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Rahul Chahar, and James Pattinson. No doubt this is a well-balanced team having many match-winners who can single-headedly win the match for MI. That’s why Mumbai Indians are always the most dangerous team in IPL who can come back any time.

READ  IPL 2021: Top 5 debutants to watch out for in the season

Mumbai Indians the 5 Times IPL titles winner

Mumbai Indians won 5 IPL titles under the leadership of hitman Rohit Sharma. No doubt this is a great achievement for any franchise and any captain. Let’s know how they have achieved these titles.

2013 Indian Premium league

2013 was the first time Mumbai Indians won the IPL titles. This was a memorable moment for Mumbai Indians fans and franchise members. They played against mighty Chennai Super Kings in the final match at Eden Garden Kolkata, where Mumbai set a target of 149 runs to win for CSK. Though this was not a safe target for Mumbai, the excellent bowling combination and performance of Mumbai Indians bowlers make it successful and bowled out CSK at just 125 and won the IPL title.

2015 Indian premium league

In 2015 Mumbai Indians did it again for the second time to win the IPL title. They faced rivalry Chennai super Kings again in the final match and scored 202 runs. This was a huge target for CSK. Chennai super Kings almost chased the target and scored 161 and lose the match. Again, the Mumbai Indians bowler did a great job and restricted the furious batting line of CSK under the target.

2017 Indian premium league

2017 IPL season was successful for Mumbai Indians as they beat Rising Pune Supergiant in the final match. In that final match, Mumbai was set a 130 target to win for Super Giants, but they failed to achieve that. Mitchell Johnson and Jasprit Bumrah bowled exceptionally well for Mumbai Indians and broke all the crucial partnerships.

READ  RCB vs KKR Head to Head

2019 Indian premium league

Under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians won the 2019 IPL title against CSK again. This time the final match was highly intense as the two strongest teams faced each other. Mumbai Indians batted first and set a target of 149/9. Kieron Pollard played a cameo inning of 41 runs at just 25 balls in that match. While chasing the 150 targets, CSK started well with Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson, but the middle order failed badly; thus, CSK lost this match by just 1 run. This was a close game for both CSK and Mumbai Indians, but finally, Mumbai won the title of IPL 2019.

2020 Indian premium league

2020 IPL was hosted in UAE because of COVID issues. The winner of the 2019 IPL title Mumbai Indians was again the strong contender for this time, which became true again. This time they faced a new team in the final, which is none other than Delhi Capitals. In the final match of 2020, IPL Mumbai Indians had to chase a decent score of 156 runs against Delhi. In that match, Rohit gave a good start to the team and scored crucial 68 runs off 51 balls, and in the end, Ishan Kishan played a cameo inning of 33 of just 19 balls and gave victory to Mumbai.

2021 IPL season is going on, and Mumbai Indians are currently at the 4th position on the points table with 8 points. However, they have lost some matches, but they can come back anytime as they did before. Let’s see how the Mumbai Indians team will perform in this Vivo IPL season 2021.

READ  What is the full form of IPL cricket?