Spread the love

In a tournament like the IPL, if a player puts in a stellar effort, the game might be over in a flash. This is especially true when a bowler takes a hat-trick in the middle of the innings. The opposition team’s ability to recover from the rapid wicket loss becomes extremely challenging. Hat-tricks are uncommon in the IPL, and there have been seasons where no bowler has taken a single hat-trick. On the other side, numerous hat-tricks have occurred in a handful of the seasons. In this article, we’ll go over all of the hat tricks that have occurred in the IPL’s history.

In the cash-rich league, Lakshmipathy Balaji was the first bowler to take a hat-trick. In the first season, he bowled a fantastic stint against the Punjab squad, taking 5 wickets for 24 runs in 4 overs. Amit Mishra and Makhaya Ntini were the other two bowlers in the same season to get a hat-trick.

The second season of the IPL was notable for the number of hat-tricks taken, as it was the first time that non-regular bowlers achieved the feat. Yuvraj Singh scored two hat-tricks for Punjab in 2009, and Rohit Sharma also scored a hat-trick while playing for the Hyderabad club.

In each of the next three seasons, three bowlers were successful in taking a hat-trick. Praveen Kumar, Amit Mishra, and Ajit Chandila were the winners in 2010, 2011, and 2012. In 2013, Amit Mishra and Sunil Narine, who bowled brilliantly for the Kolkata Knight Riders, both took hat-tricks.

Both players that scored a hat-trick in 2014 were from Rajasthan Royals. Shane Watson and Pravin Tambe each scored a hat-trick against the SRH and KKR, respectively. Axar Patel was a member of the Punjab team in 2016 and bowled a fantastic spell of 4/21 against Gujarat, including a hat-trick.

READ  Top 5 players with most catches in IPL

In the 2017 Indian Premier League, three players scored hat-tricks: Jaydev Unadkat, Andrew Tye, and Samuel Badree. Badree had the most efficient stint of the bunch, taking four wickets for nine runs in four overs. The most recent hat-tricks in the IPL occurred during the 2019 season when Shreyas Gopal and Sam Curran both had outstanding performances with the ball.

Harshal Patel, a bowler for the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), was the hero for Virat Kohli’s team with the ball in hand against the Mumbai Indians (MI) on September 26, 2021. Patel joined the list of elites by dismissing Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, and Rahul Chahar in the first three deliveries of the 16th over.

Hat-tricks list in IPL

PlayersBowling FiguresAgainstYear
Lakshmipathy Balaji5/24KXIP2008
Amit Mishra5/17DEC2008
Makhaya Ntini


Yuvraj Singh


Rohit Sharma


Yuvraj Singh


Praveen Kumar


Amit Mishra


Ajit Chandila4/13PWI2012
 Sunil Narine3/33KXIP2013
Amit Mishra


Pravin Tambe3/26KKR2014
Shane Watson3/13SRH2014
Axar Patel4/21GL2016
Samuel Badree4/9MI2017