Spread the love

IPL, the king of T20 cricket leagues, is popular among fans because of its top-class battles on the ground among strong cricket franchises. In every season, fans witness players showing their class and skills to help their team win crucial games. In any cricket match, the player having the best performance is always declared as the player of the match, also known as a man of the match award.

Player of the match award is not only for the highest scorer or highest wicket-takers but a player having an impact in every section like picking up wickets, some catches, and some crucial runs. Sometimes situations are also considered before selecting the deserving man of the match play for a particular match.

Here in this article, we will list out 5 such most impactful players who have won most of the man-of-the-match awards in the history of IPL. So, let’s get started with more details.

5 players who won most of the Man of the Match awards in IPL

1.AB de Villiers (23 Man of the match awards)

South African player AB de Villers also known as Mr.360, is one of the finest T20cricketer in this world. He has the ability to change the match result single-handedly with his amazing batting and power-hitting abilities. After MS Dhoni, he is known as the best finisher of the T 20 cricket. This stylish batsman has won 23 Man of the Match awards in IPL history because of his exceptional innings. He has smashed more than 4.5 k runs in 156 innings with an unbelievable strike rate of 151.91. Currently, he is playing for Royal Challenger Bangalore and is known as the best middle-order batsman in IPL.  

READ  How many times has KKR won the IPL?

2.Chris Gayle (22 Man of the match awards)

T20 king, also known as Universe Boss, Chris Gayle, is a dangerous batsman, especially in T 20 cricket format. He is the greatest T20 cricket of this era, known for his hard-hitting batting capability and super consistent performances over the years for his franchises. Gayle is always a game-changer, and no doubt he can destroy any bowling lineup any day.  The left-hander Caribbean batsman scores big even in T20 games, and till now, he has won 22 Man of the Match awards in this league. He has 4772 runs in IPL with an impressive strike rate of 150.11. Till now, he has smashed 31 half-centuries in this tournament.

 3.Rohit Sharma (18 Man of the match awards)

One of the finest timers of the cricket ball, hitman Rohit Sharma is on our list of most man of the match in IPL history. He has the record of 18 Man of the matches in IPL history. Currently, he is one of the most successful IPL captains who won 5 IPL titles for Mumbai Indians. Rohit always plays impactful innings, which usually hamper the opposition team and snatch the win from them. This focused and prolific right-handed batsman has more than five thousand runs in IPL with an average of 31.31 and strike rate of 130.61.


4.David Warner (17 Man of the match awards)

David Warner is another dangerous Australian batsman and one of the most popular IPL players ever who plays for Sunrisers Hyderabad. He has the record of 17 Man of the match award at just 142 matches. No doubt he is a masterclass player always having an impactful inning for his franchise. He led the SRH to win the first-ever IPL title in the 2016 season and become the highest scorer of that season with huge 848 runs. Till now, Warner has made more than five thousand runs at a strike rate of 141.54 and with an average of 42.71. He also has the unique record of making 48 half-centuries in IPL history which is the highest.

READ  How Many Foreign Players Can Play in IPL Team?


5.MS Dhoni (17 Man of the match awards)

Former Indian captain Thala MS Dhoni is the next player in our list who holds the highest man of the match awards in IPL history. Dhoni has played 204 matches in IPL and scored 4632 runs at an amazing average of 40.99 and 136.75 strike rate. He has won 17 Man of the matches in IPL and is known as the second most successful captain in IPL after Mumbaikar Rohit Sharma. Under the leadership of Dhoni, Chennai Super Kings has won three titles in 2010, 2011, and 2018. No doubt Dhoni is a real game-changer and known as the best finisher of cricket. He loves to bat deep and won matches for his franchise.