Spread the love

After the injury of Shreyas Iyer, Delhi Capitals announced their new captain for the IPL 2021 season, and surprisingly, they picked Rishabh Pant as the captain of DC. No doubt Rishabh is now on-trend because of his excellent cricketing form worldwide, and the cricket fraternity is just praising him because of his fearless approach during batting.

Though former DC captained Shreyas will be absent from the whole season of IPL due to left shoulder injury is a big disappointment for fans; fans are now very excited to see the captaincy of young Pant. At just the age of 23, Rishabh will become the captain of DC, which brings him in the list of 6th youngest captain ever in IPL history after Steve Smith, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, and Shreyas Iyer.

5 youngest captains in IPL history

This post will discuss the five youngest captains and their records in the Indian premium league.

So, let’s get started with more details.

 Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore) [22 years, 187 days]

Virat Kohli, the captain of the current Indian cricket team, was named skipper for RCB when he was 22 years 187 days year old. After got the captaincy, he never looked back. He performed very well under captaincy. Overall, he captained 125 matches for Royal Challengers Bangalore and managed to win in 55 games and lost 63 games in the Indian premium League.

 Steve Smith Pune (Pune Warriors India) [22 years, 344 days] 

Former Australian captain Steve Smith also holds the record of becoming the youngest player to lead Pune Warriors in IPL. Smith was named the captain of the difunctional franchise Pune warriors at just 22 years, 344 days. He replaced Sourav Ganguly in IPL 2012 after six conjugative losses. Steve Smith also captained Rajasthan Royals and the difunctional franchise Pune Supergiants. If you will mark the record, he won 25 matches out of 43 matches in IPL.

READ  Most man of the match awards in IPL history

 Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings) [23 years, 112 days] 

Suresh Raina also captained CSK for the first time when he was just 23 years and 112 days. He captained CSK during the absence of Dhoni due to an elbow injury in IPL 2010. He was also the captain of the difunctional franchise Gujarat Lions for an entire IPL season. During his captaincy, he managed to win 14 matches out of 34 matches.

Shreyas Iyer (Delhi Capitals) [23 years, 141 days]

Shreyas Iyer was another young player who leads Delhi Capitals at just 23, 141 days old. Shreyas became captain of DC during the mid-season of IPL 2018. Till now, he performed well as a captain. He handled the whole team very well. Under the captaincy of Shreyas, the Delhi franchise has played 41 matches and managed to win in 21 games which are not bad at all.


Dinesh Karthik (Kolkata Knight Riders) [24 years, 292 days] 

At the age of just 24, Dinesh Karthik became the captain of Kolkata Knight Riders. He captained 43 matches and won 21 matches. Though he left captaincy due to focus more on his batting skill but no doubt he did a great job for KKR when he became the captain of IPL.

Interesting fact 

  • Rishabh had lead Delhi in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in 2017.
  • Rohit had no T20 captaincy experience before he was declared as the captain of Mumbai Indians in IPL and later achieved five titles of IPL, most by any franchise till now.
READ  Top 5 players with the highest strike-rates in IPL history

For more interesting Vivo IPL 2021 regarding updates, visit our website frequently; thanks.