Spread the love

Currently, the 14th edition of the Indian premium league is going on, and this is one of the biggest T20 cricket leagues ever in this world. Do you know which franchise has won the maximum number of IPL titles?

Here in this post, we will give you more details about which team has won the maximum number of IPL titles and the other successful teams who won IPL titles. So read the post till the end to gain more information regarding IPL title winners.

In 2008, the inaugural edition of IPL was won by Rajasthan Royal under the leadership of former Australian spinner and legend Shane Warne. After that, many franchises get the chance to win this title in different seasons. Deccan Chargers was another franchise that won the IPL title in 2009, but currently, that franchise is not active in IPL.

Chennai super kings were the winner of both 2010, 2011, and 2018 IPL. 2012 IPL was the golden year for Kolkata Knight Riders as they won the IPL title under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir. In 2013 Mumbai Indians won its first-ever IPL titles and continue their title-winning habit in 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. In 2014 Kolkata Knight riders again won the title. Orange army Sunrisers Hyderabad managed to win their maiden IPL title in 2016.

Let’s comes to the question which team has won the maximum number of IPL titles? The answer is pretty simple; it’s none other than Mumbai Indians. They managed to win 5 IPL titles in the history of IPL, and Chennai Super Kings comes next to Mumbai Indians with 3 IPL title-winning teams.

READ  Batsmen with fastest centuries in IPL history

Maximum numbers of IPL title winning teams 

1.Mumbai Indians

Number of IPL Titles-5(2013, 2015,2017, 2019, 2020)

Mumbai Indians is the strongest team of IPL, and they have won maximum numbers of IPL titles. This team has won 5 IPL titles under the leadership of Hitman Rohit Sharma. MI won their first IPL trophy in 2013 when they defeated CSK in a tough battle by 23 runs. In 2015 they again won the trophy against CSK.

In 2017 they beat Rising Pune Supergiant by one run and won the title. That was an amazing match held in Hyderabad, and Krunal Pandya was the player of the match and Ben Stokes was the player of the series award.

In 2019 IPL Mumbai Indians again won the title by beating rivalry Chennai Super Kings by one run in Hyderabad. In that season, Jasprit Bumrah bowled amazingly and won the Player of the Match award. Lastly, they won the IPL Title again in 2020, which was played in Dubai. There Mumbai Indians broke their winning stream by beating Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets. In 2020 IPL, Trent Boult was named the match award player because of his exceptional bowling performance of three wickets in the final match. Jofra Archer won the Player of the series this season for taking the most wickets in the season.


2.Chennai Super Kings

Number of IPL titles-3(2010,2011,2018)

Chennai Super Kings, also known as the yellow army known as one of the strongest teams ever in IPL history. They have won three IPL trophies till now under the leadership of Thala MS. Dhoni.

READ  5 Things that never changed in IPL since 2008

CSK was the team that won the maximum number of IPL titles after Mumbai Indians. This team won their first IPL title in 2010 against Mumbai Indians by 22 runs. Again they won the trophy in 2011 by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore with a huge margin of 58 runs.

In that match, Murli Vijay has scored 95 runs at just 52 balls. Then CSK got suspended for two years, but they again comeback stronger in 2018 and won the title by 8 wickets against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

3.Kolkata Knight Riders

Numbers of IPL titles-2 (2012& 2014)

Kolkata Knight Riders have achieved many successes under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. This team has won two titles under the leadership of Gautam in 2012 and 2014.

Kolkata first won their IPL title in 2012 against Chennai Super Kings in the final. It was a superb match where CSK scored a huge 190/3 score with the help of Suresh Raina’s superb innings. But KKR chased this score easily with the help of a special knock of Manvinder Bisla. He scored 89 runs at just 48 balls and helped his side to win by 5 wickets.

KKR again won the IPL title in 2014 against Kings XI Punjab (Currently Punjab Kings) by 3 wickets. In that match, Manish Pandey smashed brilliant 94 runs with just 50 balls and helped KKR win the final game.

4.Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad

Numbers of IPL titles- 1 each  

When it comes to IPL titles, three teams have won single IPL trophies. Rajasthan Royals won the first edition of IPL 2008 under the captaincy of Shane Warne. RR was the underdog team in that season and defeated Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets.

READ  Who Took the First Hat Trick in IPL History? List of bowlers who have picked a hat-trick in the IPL!

Deccan Chargers was the winner of the 2nd edition of IPL in 2009, held in South Africa. Adam Gilchrist was the captain of this franchise. They defeated RCB in final matches and defended 143/6, and won by 6 runs. The BCCI dissolved Deccan Chargers in 2012 for breaching the contract terms.

Sunrisers Hyderabad, also known as Orange Army, is the next team that won the 2016 IPL title under the leadership of David warner. They scored 208/7 in the final against Royal Challengers Bangalore and restricted RCB on 200/7, and win by 8 runs.

The 2021 edition is running well and halfway through the season. The last seasons have seen the repeated winner of the IPL title; what’s your thought regarding it for the current season? Let’s see who will be the winner of Vivo IPL 2021.